

Committee Members

Michael E. Schwab (Chair) Lynn Kessler (Vice Chair) Sen. Mark Miloscia (R) Sen. Maralyn Chase (D) Rep. Luanne Van Werven (R) Rep. Larry Springer (D) Taylor (Tip) Wonhoff Rowland Thompson David Zeeck Hon. Pete Holmes Sara Di Vittorio Kathy George Jennifer Steele

PUBLIC RECORDS EXEMPTIONS ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE "SUNSHINE COMMITTEE"

PO Box 40100 • Olympia, WA 98504 • 360-753-6200 • www.atg.wa.gov/sunshine-committee

February 27, 2018

The Honorable Jay Inslee Office of the Governor P.O. Box 40002 Olympia, WA 98504-0002

RE: ESB 6617

Dear Governor Inslee:

The Public Records Exemptions Accountability Committee (Sunshine Committee) today adopted a resolution to express concern about the lack of public process used to pass ESB 6617. We have specific concerns regarding the bill. They are:

- 1) The lack of public hearing and input.
- 2) The lack of judicial oversight or review.
- 3) The ability of the Legislature to deny a request subjectively deemed to be "harassing."

We ask you to veto the bill, in whole or in part, in order to provide for meaningful time for public and Legislative review, holding public hearings and receiving public comment.

Sincerely,

The Sunshine Committee